Symposium 39 - A 20th Century French Salon Current Season > Symposiums


6 October 1996


  • Syrinx for solo flute (1913) Claude Debussy
  • Rhapsodie for English horn and piano (1917) Debussy
  • Chansons madécasses (1925-6)

    Il est doux . . .


    Maurice Ravel
  • Trio for piano, violin and ‘cello in A minor (1914) 

    Pantoum—Assez vif
    Passacaille—Très large





    We wish to express our gratitude to Helicon’s Members
    whose support has made possible the events of this our twelfth season:

    Patty Otis Abel, Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Abbe Aronson and Barry Wacksman, Cynthia A. Bolt,
    Nancy Cardozo, James M. Cornacchia, Gloria and Philip Cowen, V. Edward Dent, Joan K. Easton,
    Timothy B. Harwood, Franklin Heller and Christian Steiner, Louise Hodgson, Don Hogsett and Peter Tinker,
    Pat and Paul Kaplan, Mr. and Mrs. Rolf Liebergesell, Peter C. Lombardo, M.D., Jeanne and David Martowski,
    Karen McLaughlin and Mark Schubin, Woodson C. Merrell, M.D., David S. Moyer, Zoltan Ovary, M.D.,
    Marion and Phil Ponzek, Mary Ann and Howard Rogers, Susan and Elihu Rose, Ann and Joe Scozzafava,
    Carol and Gerard Silverman, Arlene and Bruce Simon, Jason Starr, Virginia and Edwin Steffe,
    Pamela Drexel Walker, Lisa and Paul Welch, Dianne and Bob Whitecotton,
    and Joanne Witty and Eugene J. Keilin

    And to our other benefactors whose support has been so meaningful:
    Sir Robert J. Campbell, M.D., KSJ and Sir Cesare L. Santeramo, KSJ, Mauro David Guardati,
    Mary Rodgers Guettel, Matthew Herren, and Peter Yarrow

    Albert Fuller, President and Artistic Director, Franklin Heller, Treasurer, William A. Simon, Secretary,
    Joan K. Easton, Michael C. Hanes, Zoltan Ovary, M.D., Patrick Rucker, Pamela Drexel Walker

    Advisory Committee
    Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Dorianne Beyer, James M. Cornacchia, Marianne Carroll, Jere T. Farrah, Mark Golderman, Randolph Harrison,
    Robert M. Light, Karen McLaughlin, Sherman S. Pazner, M.D., Richard Schemm, Thomas Sokolowski, Barry Wacksman,
    Lisa Welch, Dianne Whitecotton, Bob Whitecotton, Susan Zolla-Pazner, Ph. D.

    Craig Logan Jackson†, Gregory B. Smith†, Miss Alice Tully†

    James R. Roe, Executive Director

Special Thanks

    For their assistance with this 40th Symposium, Helicon is deeply grateful to the estate of Gladys Kriebel Delmas,
    to Peter Helm for the loan of his 1887 New York Steinway piano,and to
    Holly Lueders and Dick Spizzirri for providing a temporary home for our two harpsichords.