Historical Seasons > Past Symposiums

Symposium 2 - The Violin: A Tool of the Imagination

15 December 1985

A Tool of the Imagination


  • I. The Violin: A Tool of the Imagination

    Albert Fuller


  • II. Two 17th-century works for violin and continuo

    Barolomeo Montalbanco (c. 1600-1651)
         Sinfonia IV "Geloso" (1629)

    Marco Uccellini (1610-1680)
         Sonata Seconda detta la Luciminia Contenta


  • III. A 17th-century work of violin alone

    Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber (1644-1704)


  • IV. Two 18th-century concerti for two violins with strings and continuo

    J. S. Bach (1685-1750)
         Concerto in D-Minor, BWV 1043
             Largo ma non tanto

    Antonio Vivaldi (1648-1741)
         Concerto in D-Major, F. I, No. 222
             Allegro molto



Board of Directors

    Albert Fuller
    Franklin Heller
    Ernest Levenstein
    Zoltan Ovary, M.D.
    William A. Simon
    Gergory B. Smith
    Miss Alice Tully


    We feel a profound gratitude to the following charter benefactors who have supported the creation of Helicon's new network of friends:
    Mr. Stuart Bellows
    Mrs. Ruth Berlin
    Mr. Murph Brown
    Mr. Hughes Cuenod
    Mr. and Mrs. Jean Paul Delmas
    Mr. V. Edward Dent
    Lilly Engler, M.D.
    Mr. Jere T. Farrah
    Mr. And Mrs. Hugh Gough
    Mr. William Gudenrath
    Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Hahn
    Mr. Franklin Heller
    Mr. Michael Hesse
    Mr. and Mrs, Maurice Kahn
    Mr. and Mrs. Paul Kaplan
    Ms. Paula Konikoff
    Mr. Ernest Levenstein
    Mr. Robert M. Light
    Peter Lombardo, M.D.
    Mr. Tom G. Margittai
    The Maya Corporation (Miss Alice Tully)
    Adela Oliver, Ph.D.
    Mr. Donald Outerbridge
    Zoltan Ovary, M.D.
    Dr. Sherman Pazner
    Dr. Susan Zolla-Pazner
    Mr. Richard Schemm
    Mr. Irwin Scherzer
    Dr. Robert Silver
    Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Simon
    Mrs. William A. Simon, Jr.
    Mr. and Mrs. William A. Simon
    Mr. Gregory B. Smith
    Mr. and Mrs. Eugene V. Thaw
    Lewis Thomas, M.D.
    James Ty, M.D.
    Mrs. Elanor Williamson

Special Thanks

    Marianne Carroll
    David Friddle
    Catherine Gevers,
    Mark Golderman
    Alan Hale
    Craig Jackson
    Andrew Luchansky
    James Luchansky
    James McGarry
    Patrick Rucker
    Marja Samson
    David Sanders
    Richard Schemm