Historical Seasons > Past Symposiums

Symposium 3 - Versailles: The Reign of Fame

16 March 1986

"The Reign of Fame"

    A Multi-Slide Presentation with Music and Narration
        by Albert Fuller

    This visual essay on the personality of Louis XIV was composed to open the Fifth Aston Magna Academy of 1982 -- "Music, Art, Theatre and Dance in the Age of Louis XIV (1661-1715)" -- sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities. The special photography and research necessary for its preparation were carried out in situ at the invitation of M. Pierre Lemoine, Conservateur en Chef of Château de Versailles. This visit was made possible by the encouragement of William Gudenrath, Robert Light, Donald Outerbridge, Gregory B. Smith and Miss Alice Tully. The foresight and generosity of these friends in 1981 formed the nucleus that gathered the present Helicon Network.

    To commemorate the twentieth anniversay of John F. Kennedy's assassination, Mr. Fuller presented "The Reign of Fame" to the public at the Air and Space Museum of the Smithsonian Institution on November 22, 1983. It will be presented again as the opening event of the E. Nakamichi Baroque Music Festival in Schönberg Hall at UCLA on June 23, 1986. One of the Helicon Foundation's goals is to bring this essay, and its companion, "Thomas Jefferson: His Vision of the American Dream", to a broad, national audience.

    Mark Golderman, artist/photographer, has created especially for this purpose the greater part of the images projected here. His photographs were conceived to reflect the emblematic and psychological context of the subject matter and to be propulsive, communicative art works in their own right. 


Board of Directors

    Albert Fuller, President
    Ernest Levenstein, Treasurer
    William A. Simon, Secretary
    Franklin Heller
    Zoltan Ovary, M.D.
    Gregory B. Smith
    Miss Alice Tully

Advisory Committee

    Robert E. Armstrong
    Moy Eng
    Jere T. Farrah
    Catherine Gevers
    Mark Golderman
    William Gudenrath
    Craig Logan Jackson
    Robert M. Light
    Charles Lockwood
    Sherman S. Pazner, M.D.
    Patrick Rucker
    David F. Sanders
    Richard Schemm
    Thomas Sokolowsky
    Susan Zolla-Pazner, Ph.D.


    We feel a profound gratitude to the following charter benefactors who have supported the creation of Helicon's new network of friends:
    Mr. Stuart Bellows
    Mrs. R. Henry Berlin
    Mr. and Mrs. Jesse Birnbaum
    Mr. Murph Brown
    Mr. Hughes Cuenod
    Mr. and Mrs. Jean Paul Delmas
    Mr. V. Edward Dent
    Lilly Engler, M.D.
    Mr. Jere T. Farrah
    Mr. And Mrs. Hugh Gough
    Mr. William Gudenrath
    Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Hahn
    Mr. Franklin Heller
    Mr. Michael Hesse
    Mr. and Mrs, Maurice Kahn
    Dr. Norman Kaplan
    Mr. and Mrs. Paul Kaplan
    Ms. Paula Konikoff
    Mr. Ernest Levenstein
    Mr. Robert M. Light
    Peter Lombardo, M.D.
    Mr. Tom G. Margittai
    The Maya Corporation (Miss Alice Tully)
    Dr. Mary O'Sullivan
    Adela Oliver, Ph.D.
    Mr. Donald Outerbridge
    Zoltan Ovary, M.D.
    Dr. Sherman Pazner
    Dr. Susan Zolla-Pazner
    Mr. Richard Schemm
    Mr. Irwin Scherzer
    Dr. Robert Silver
    Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Simon
    Mrs. William A. Simon, Jr.
    Mr. and Mrs. William A. Simon
    Mr. Gregory B. Smith
    Mr. and Mrs. Eugene V. Thaw
    Lewis Thomas, M.D.
    Miss Alice Tully
    James Ty, M.D.
    Mr. and Mrs. Guy Walton
    Mr. Robert White
    Mrs. Elanor Williamson

Special Thanks

    Carswell Berlin
    Marianne Carroll
    Moy Eng
    Jere Farrah
    Fiona Fein
    David Friddle
    Mark Golderman
    William Gudenrath
    Michael Hesse
    Craig Logan Jackson
    Patrick Rucker
    Marja Samson
    David Sanders