Historical Seasons > Past Symposiums

Symposium 34 - Versailles: The Reign of Fame

30 April 1995

The Reign of Fame


  • The Reign of Fame
    by Albert Fuller
  • Symposium XXXIV is dedicated to the memory of our long-time member, Ruth Berlin, whose
    dedicated love of humanity and art will be missed by all whom she touched.

    This visual essay on the personality of Louis XIV was composed to open the Fifth Aston Magna Academy of 1982, “Music, Art, Theatre and Dance in the Age of Louis XIV (1661-1715),” sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities. The special photography and research necessary for its preparation were carried out in situ at the invitation of M. Pierre Lemoine, Conservateur en Chef of the Château de Versailles. This visit was made possible by the encouragement of William Gudenrath, Robert Light, Donald Outerbridge, Gregory B. Smith and Miss Alice Tully. The foresight and generosity of these friends in 1981 formed the nucleus from which our present Helicon Network has grown and flourished.

    The Helicon Foundation presented THE REIGN OF FAME at Symposium III, 16 March 1986, as the closing of our first season. We are happy to offer it again at the close of our Tenth Season.

    THE REIGN OF FAME has also been presented: at the Air and Space Museum of the Smithsonian Institution to mark the twentieth anniversary of John F. Kennedy’s assassination; at UCLA to open its first E. Nakamichi Baroque Festival; at the Walters Art Gallery in Baltimore, and for NYU’s French and Art Departments. Most recently, Mr. Fuller has been asked to present it for Oberlin College’s Historically Informed Performance Festival of the French Baroque, during this coming June.

    Mark Golderman, artist/photographer, has created especially for this purpose the greater part of the images projected here. His photographs were conceived to reflect the emblematic and psychological context to the subject matter and to be propulsive, communicative art works in their own right.



    We wish to express our gratitude to Helicon’s Members
    whose support has made possible the events of this our tenth season:

    Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Mrs. F. Henry Berlin, Carswell R. Berlin, Dorianne Beyer, Marianne Carroll, Nancy Cardozo,
    James M. Cornacchia, Edmond & Yvette Cotty, Gloria & Philip Cowen, R. Ian Danic, V. Ed. Dent,
    Jeffrey & Linda Drogin, Edward K. Dunham, M.D., Mrs. Joan K. Easton, Michael Hanes, Timothy B. Harwood,
    Louise Hodgson, Craig Logan Jackson, Beverley Peck Johnson, Pat and Paul Kaplan, Paula K. Konikoff, J.D., MAI,
    Robert M. Light, Peter C. Lombardo, M.D., Stephen Magowan, Jeanne & David Martowski,
    Karen McLaughlin & Mark Schubin, David Moyer, Charles Myers, Zoltan Ovary, M.D.,
    Susan Zolla-Pazner & Sherman Pazner, Lisa Poli, Marion & Phil Ponzek, The Susan and Elihu Rose Foundation,
    Gerard & Carol Silverman, Arlene & Bruce Simon, Jason Starr, Virginia & Edwin Steffe, Sophie Stokes,
    Cynthia Vasilakos, Barry Wacksman & Abbe Aronson, Pamela Drexel Walker, Dianne & Bob Whitecotton,
    and Joanne Witty & Eugene Keilin

    And to our other benefactors whose support has been so meaningful:
    Mr. & Mrs. Alan R. Morris, Mr. Harvey Mermelstien, Francine Russo, and Robert J. Campbell, M. D. & Mr. Cesare L. Santeramo

    Albert Fuller, President, Franklin Heller, Treasurer, William A. Simon, Secretary,
    Joan K. Easton, Michael C. Hanes, Craig Logan Jackson, Zoltan Ovary, M.D., Patrick Rucker, Pamela Drexel Walker

    Advisory Committee
    Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Dorianne Beyer, Marianne Carroll, Jere T. Farrah, Mark Golderman, Randolph Harrison,
    Robert M. Light, Sherman S. Pazner, M.D., Richard Schemm, Thomas Sokolowski, Barry Wacksman,
    Susan Zolla-Pazner, Ph. D.

    Gregory B. Smith †, Miss Alice Tully †

    James R. Roe, Administrative Director

Special Thanks

    Helicon is deeply grateful to the estate of Gladys Kriebel Delmas for its assistance in sponsoring this 34th Symposium,
    to Mark Golderman for his attention to the details of the Helicon Studio, to Mark Schubin for his advice, and
    to Scharff Weisberg for their loan of projector equipment.