Historical Seasons > Past Symposiums

Symposium 41 - An Edwardian Valentine

9 February 1997

An Edwardian Valentine


  • The Year’s at the Spring
    Mrs. H. H. A. Beach

  • Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal
    Roger Quitler

  • Kashmiri Song
    Amy Woodforde-Finden

  • Till I Wake
    Amy Woodforde-Finden

  • The Fairy Tree
    Vincent O’Brien

  • Song to the Seals
    Granville Bantock

  • O Dry those Tears
    Teresa del Riego

  • Ah, Moon of my Delight
    Liza Lehmann

  • Roses of Picardy
    Haydn Wood

  • Birdsongs at Eventide
    Eric Coates

  • June Night
    Horatio Parker

  • Duna
    Josephine McGill

  • The Children
    Theodore Chanler

  • The Side Show
    Charles Ives

  • Little Grey Home in the West
    Herman Löhr

  • Somewhere a Voice is Calling
    Arthur Tate

  • The Lost Chord
    Arthur Sullivan



    We wish to express our gratitude to Helicon’s Members
    whose support has made possible the events of this our twelfth season:

    Patty Otis Abel and Dennis R. Reiff, Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Abbe Aronson and Barry Wacksman,
    Cynthia A. Bolt, Nancy Cardozo, Marianne Carroll, James M. Cornacchia, Gloria and Philip Cowen, V. Edward Dent,
    Edward K. Dunham, M.D., Joan K. Easton, Timothy B. Harwood, Franklin Heller and Christian Steiner,
    Louise Hodgson, Don Hogsett and Peter Tinker, Pat and Paul Kaplan, Douglas P. Klassen,
    Mr. and Mrs. Rolf Liebergesell, Peter C. Lombardo, M.D., Stephen Magowan, Jeanne and David Martowski, Karen McLaughlin and Mark Schubin, Woodson C. Merrell, M.D., David S. Moyer,
    Zoltan Ovary, M.D., Susan Zolla-Pazner, Ph. D. and Sherman S. Pazner, M.D., Marion and Phil Ponzek, Mary Ann and Howard Rogers, Susan and Elihu Rose, Ann and Joe Scozzafava, Carol and Gerard Silverman,
    Arlene and Bruce Simon, Jason Starr, Virginia and Edwin Steffe, Pamela Drexel Walker,
    Lisa and Paul Welch, Dianne and Bob Whitecotton,
    and Joanne Witty and Eugene J. Keilin

    And to our other benefactors whose support has been so meaningful:
    Sir Robert J. Campbell, M.D., KSJ and Sir Cesare L. Santeramo, KSJ,
    Mauro David Guardati, Mary Rodgers Guettel, Matthew Herren, Ethel and Howard Schachman, and Peter Yarrow

    Albert Fuller, President and Artistic Director, Franklin Heller, Treasurer, William A. Simon, Secretary,
    Joan K. Easton, Michael C. Hanes, Timothy B. Harwood, Zoltan Ovary, M.D., Patrick Rucker, Pamela Drexel Walker

    Advisory Committee
    Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Dorianne Beyer, James M. Cornacchia, Marianne Carroll, Jere T. Farrah,
    Mark Golderman, Randolph Harrison, Robert M. Light, Karen McLaughlin, Sherman S. Pazner, M.D.,
    Richard Schemm, Thomas Sokolowski, Barry Wacksman,
    Lisa Welch, Dianne Whitecotton, Bob Whitecotton, Susan Zolla-Pazner, Ph. D.

    Craig Logan Jackson†, Gregory B. Smith†, Miss Alice Tully†

    James R. Roe, Executive Director

Special Thanks

    For their assistance with this 41st Symposium, Helicon is deeply grateful to the estate of Gladys Kriebel Delmas,
    to Peter Helm for the loan of his 1887 New York Steinway piano,
    and to Holly Lueders and Dick Spizzirri for providing a temporary home for our two harpsichords.
    Helicon records its sorrow at the death of our long-term member Edwin Charles Steffe.