Historical Seasons > Past Symposiums

Symposium 42 - Wind Music in Beethoven’s Vienna

18 May 1997

Wind Music in
Beethoven’s Vienna


  • Quintet for oboe, bassoon, and three horns (1793?)

    Adagio maestoso


    Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Trio in E-flat, Op. 43, KWV 5105

    Maestoso—ROMANCE: Allegro moderato
    Andantino grazioso
    RONDO: Allegro


    Conradin Kreutzer

  • Quintet in E-flat, Op. 16 (1796)

    Grave—Allegro ma non troppo
    Andante cantabile
    RONDO: Allegro ma non troppo





    We wish to express our gratitude to Helicon’s Members
    whose support has made possible the events of this our twelfth season:

    Patty Otis Abel and Dennis R. Reiff, Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Abbe Aronson and Barry Wacksman,
    Cynthia A. Bolt, Nancy Cardozo, Marianne Carroll, James M. Cornacchia, Gloria and Philip Cowen, V. Edward Dent,
    Edward K. Dunham, M.D., Joan K. Easton, Timothy B. Harwood, Franklin Heller and Christian Steiner,
    Louise Hodgson, Don Hogsett and Peter Tinker, Pat and Paul Kaplan, Douglas P. Klassen,
    Mr. and Mrs. Rolf Liebergesell, Peter C. Lombardo, M.D.,
    Stephen Magowan, Jeanne and David Martowski, Karen McLaughlin and Mark Schubin, Woodson C. Merrell, M.D.,
    David S. Moyer, Zoltan Ovary, M.D., Susan Zolla-Pazner, Ph. D. and Sherman S. Pazner, M.D.,
    Marion and Phil Ponzek, Mary Ann and Howard Rogers, Susan and Elihu Rose, Ann and Joe Scozzafava,
    Carol and Gerard Silverman, Arlene and Bruce Simon, Jason Starr, Virginia Steffe, Pamela Drexel Walker,
    Lisa and Paul Welch, Dianne and Bob Whitecotton, and Joanne Witty and Eugene J. Keilin

    And to our other benefactors whose support has been so meaningful:
    Sir Robert J. Campbell, M.D., KSJ and Sir Cesare L. Santeramo, KSJ,
    Mauro David Guardati, Mary Rodgers Guettel, Matthew Herren, Ethel and Howard Schachman, and Peter Yarrow

    Albert Fuller, President and Artistic Director, Franklin Heller, Treasurer, William A. Simon, Secretary,
    Joan K. Easton, Michael C. Hanes, Timothy B. Harwood, Zoltan Ovary, M.D., Patrick Rucker, Pamela Drexel Walker

    Advisory Committee
    Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Abbe Aronson, Dorianne Beyer, James M. Cornacchia, Marianne Carroll, Jere T. Farrah,
    Mark Golderman, Randolph Harrison, Robert M. Light, Karen McLaughlin, Sherman S. Pazner, M.D.,
    Richard Schemm, Thomas Sokolowski, Barry Wacksman, Lisa Welch,
    Dianne Whitecotton, Bob Whitecotton, Susan Zolla-Pazner, Ph. D.

    Craig Logan Jackson†, Gregory B. Smith†, Miss Alice Tully†

    James R. Roe, Executive Director

Special Thanks

    For their assistance with this 42nd Symposium, Helicon is deeply grateful to the estate of
    Gladys Kriebel Delmas,and The Alice Tully Foundation.