Historical Seasons > Past Symposiums

Symposium 51 - On Broadway

14 November 1999

Songs from The Golden Age of
The American Musical Theater


  • The performers will announce their selections from the piano.

    A bouquet of songs including works by Berlin, Blake, Gershwin, Kern, Porter, Rodgers and Hart, Warren, and others, featuring a selection of cabaret songs by William Bolcom from a forthcoming Centaur Recording with Joan Morris and Benita Valente.




    We wish to express our gratitude to Helicon’s Members
    whose support has made possible the events of this, our fifteenth anniversary season:

    Directors Circle

    Joan K. Easton, Zoltan Ovary, M.D.

    Sponsoring Members
    Lisa and Paul Welch

    Sustaining Members
    Gail S. and Ernst R. Habicht, Jr., Timothy B. Harwood, Jeanne and David Martowski, David S. Moyer

    Contributing Members
    Nancy Cardozo Cowles, V. Edward Dent, Louise Hodgson,
    Karen McLaughlin and Mark Schubin, and Joanne Witty and Eugene J. Keilin

    Patty Otis Abel and Dennis R. Reiff, Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Cynthia Bolt, Pamela Drexel,
    Geraldine C. Ford, Franklin Heller and Christian Steiner, Sarah O.H. Johnson and Keith Lubell,
    Dina George Khoury and Nick Khoury, Valerie Lichman, Peter C. Lombardo, M.D., Sarah G. Miles, Howard Ratech, M.D.,
    Susan W. Rose, Irwin S. Scherzer, Laura Schoen, Joe and Ann Scozzafava, Linda Grass Shapiro, Carol and Gerard Silverman,
    Arlene and Bruce Simon, William and Lavinia Simon, Jason Starr and Dr. Catherine Keller, Ruth Turner,
    Dianne and Bob Whitecotton, and Drs. Susan Zolla-Pazner and Sherman Pazner

    Ameritech Corporation, Sir Robert J. Campbell, M.D., KSJ and Sir Cesare L. Santeramo, KSJ,
    Edward K. Dunham, M.D., and Peter Yarrow

    Albert Fuller, President and Artistic Director, Franklin Heller, Treasurer, William A. Simon, Secretary,
    Pamela Drexel, Joan K. Easton, Michael C. Hanes, Timothy B. Harwood, David S. Moyer, Zoltan Ovary, M.D., Patrick Rucker

    Advisory Committee
    Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Abbe Aronson, Dorianne Beyer, James M. Cornacchia, Marianne Carroll, Jere T. Farrah,
    Mark Golderman, Randolph Harrison, Robert M. Light, Karen McLaughlin, Sherman S. Pazner, M.D., Richard Schemm,
    Thomas Sokolowski, Barry Wacksman, Lisa Welch, Dianne Whitecotton, Bob Whitecotton, Susan Zolla-Pazner, Ph.D.

    Craig Logan Jackson†, Gregory B. Smith†, Miss Alice Tully†

    James R. Roe, Executive Director
    Matthew Herren, Administrative Assistant

Special Thanks

    For their assistance with this 51st Symposium, Helicon is deeply grateful to
    the estate of Gladys Krieble Delmas, The Alice Tully Foundation,
    and to Peter Helm for the loan of his 1887 New York Steinway piano.