Historical Seasons > Past Symposiums

Symposium 57 - BRAHMS and DVORAK

29 April 2001



  • Piano Quartet No. 3, in C Minor, op. 60 (1855-75)

    Allegro non troppo
    SCHERZO: Allegro
    FINALE: Allegro comodo


    Johannes Brahms

  • Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, op. 87 (1889)

    Allegro con fuoco
    Allegro moderato, grazioso
    Allegro ma non troppo


    Antonin Dvorak



    We wish to express our gratitude to Helicon’s Members
    whose support has made possible the events of this, our sixteenth season:

    Helicon Society

    Susan and Elihu Rose

    Directors Circle
    Joan K. Easton, Zoltan Ovary, M.D., Lisa and Paul Welch

    Sponsoring Member

    Sustaining Members
    V. Edward Dent, Timothy B. Harwood, Jeanne and David Martowski, David S. Moyer,
    William and Lavinia Simon, and Joanne Witty and Eugene J. Keilin

    Contributing Members
    Louis and Elizabeth Capozzi, Dorothea and Bradford Endicott, Franklin Heller and Christian Steiner, Valerie Lichman,
    Bob and Diana Mattson, Karen McLaughlin and Mark Schubin, Laura Schoen and Robert Kaufman,
    and Drs. Susan Zolla-Pazner and Sherman Pazner

    Patty Otis Abel and Dennis R. Reiff, Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Cynthia Bolt, Nancy Cardozo,
    Pamela Drexel, Geraldine C. Ford, Jim and Yukiko Gatheral, Gail and Ernst Habicht, Elizabeth K. Krimendahl,
    Peter C. Lombardo, M.D., Keith Lubell and Sarah O.H. Johnson, Sarah G. Miles, Howard Ratech and Hideko Kamino, Jason Starr and Dr. Catherine Keller, Alexander and Gladys Rysman, Joe and Ann Scozzafava, Carol and Gerard Silverman,
    Arlene and Bruce Simon, William and Lavinia Simon, and Dianne and Bob Whitecotton, Anonymous

    Sir Robert J. Campbell, M.D., KSJ and Sir Cesare L. Santeramo, KSJ, Edward K. Dunham, M.D.,
    Ethel and Howard Schachman, and Peter Yarrow

    Albert Fuller, President and Artistic Director, Franklin Heller, Treasurer, William A. Simon, Secretary,
    Pamela Drexel, Joan K. Easton, Michael C. Hanes, Timothy B. Harwood, David S. Moyer, Zoltan Ovary, M.D., Patrick Rucker

    Advisory Committee
    Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Abbe Aronson, Dorianne Beyer, James M. Cornacchia, Marianne Carroll, Jere T. Farrah,
    Mark Golderman, Randolph Harrison, Robert M. Light, Karen McLaughlin, Sherman S. Pazner, M.D., Richard Schemm,
    Thomas Sokolowski, Barry Wacksman, Lisa Welch, Dianne Whitecotton, Bob Whitecotton, Susan Zolla-Pazner, Ph.D.

Special Thanks

    For their assistance with this 57th Symposium, Helicon is deeply grateful to The Alice Tully Foundation,
    the estate of Gladys Krieble Delmas, and to Peter Helm for the loan of his 1887 New York Steinway.