Historical Seasons > Past Symposiums

Symposium 63 - Pre-Revolutionary Paris

27 October 2002

Violin Sonatas from Pre-Revolutionary Paris


  • Sonata in A Major, KV 305 (1778)

    Allegro di molto
    Thema (Andante grazioso)
    Variations I-IV


    W. A. Mozart

  • Sonata in B-flat Major, Op. 6, Nr. 3 (1782)

    Rondo: Allegretto


    N. J. Hüllmandel

  • Sonata in C Minor, Op. 7, Nr. 1 (1779)

    Avec précipitation
    d'Un ton plaintif
    Avec énergie et pas très vite


    J. F. Edelmann

  • Trois Pièces Charactéristiques (1755-56)

    La Borchward: Polonaise (H.79)
    La Gleim: Rondeau (H.89)
    La Boehmer (H.81)


    C.P.E. Bach

  • Arioso with Variations in A Major (1781)

    Sostenuto, Variations I-IV



  • Sonata in G Major, Hob. XV:32 (1794)



    F. J. Haydn



    We wish to express our gratitude to Helicon’s Members
    whose support has made possible the events of this, our eighteenth season:

    Directors Circle

    Joan K. Easton, Zoltan Ovary, M.D.

    Sponsoring Member
    V. Edward Dent, Dorothea and Bradford Endicott, Lisa and Paul Welch, Anonymous

    Sustaining Members
    Leslie Armstrong and David Walton, Timothy B. Harwood, Jeanne and David Martowski,
    Karen McLaughlin and Mark Schubin, David S. Moyer,
    William and Lavinia Simon, and Joanne Witty and Eugene J. Keilin

    Contributing Members
    Patty Otis Abel and Dennis R. Reiff, Steve Dishart,
    Franklin Heller and Christian Steiner, Valerie Krieger, Peter C. Lombardo, M.D., Arthur Richenthal,
    Laura Schoen and Robert Kaufman, Arlene and Bruce Simon, and Drs. Susan Zolla-Pazner and Sherman Pazner

    Sandra Engelson Brown and Laurence Brown, Nancy Cardozo,
    Pamela Drexel, Jim and Yukiko Gatheral, Tibor Kerekes, Jr.,
    Keith Lubell and Sarah O.H. Johnson, Sarah G. Miles, Howard Ratech and Hideko Kamino,
    Dr. Heidi Rotterdam, Joe and Ann Scozzafava

    Chev. Robert J. Campbell, M.D., KSJ and Chev. Cesare L. Santeramo, KSJ, and Peter Yarrow

    Albert Fuller, President and Artistic Director, Franklin Heller, Treasurer, William A. Simon, Secretary,
    Pamela Drexel, Joan K. Easton, Michael C. Hanes, Timothy B. Harwood, David S. Moyer,
    Zoltan Ovary, M.D., Patrick Rucker, Lisa Welch

Special Thanks

    For their assistance with this Sixty-Third Symposium, Helicon is deeply grateful to
    The Alice Tully Foundation and the estate of Gladys Krieble Delmas, and to Andrew Appel
    for the generous loan of his Wolf fortepiano.