Historical Seasons > Past Symposiums

Symposium 65 - Songs For the New Century

2 March 2003

Robert White Tenor
Songs commissioned by the Metropolitan Museum of Art especially for Robert White.


  • Nude at the Piano

    Text: Mark Campbell


    John Musto

  • On the Beach at Night

    Text: Walt Whitman


    Lowell Liebermann

  • Life's Arc

    Text: Christopher Foss


    Lukas Foss

  • Ghost Letter

    Text: Richard McGrath


    Daron Hagen

  • The Lake Isle Innisfree

    Text: W.B. Yeats


    Ben Moore

  • How Pleasant it is to have Money

    Text: Arthur Hugh Clough


    Richard Hundley

  • A Crowd of Stars

    Text: W.B. Yeats


    Paul Moravec

  • The Old Man's Song

    Text: Gian Carlo Menotti


    Gian Carlo Menotti

  • Irreverent Heart

    Text: E.Y. Harburg


    John Corigliano

  • He Will Not Hear

    Text: William Jay Smith


    Ned Rorem

  • The Invincible Upright

    Text: Sheldon Harnick


    Thomas Z. Shepard



    We wish to express our gratitude to Helicon’s Members
    whose support has made possible the events of this, our eighteenth season:

    Directors Circle

    Joan K. Easton, Zoltan Ovary, M.D.

    Sponsoring Member
    V. Edward Dent, Dorothea and Bradford Endicott, Lisa and Paul Welch, Anonymous

    Sustaining Members
    Leslie Armstrong and David Walton, Timothy B. Harwood,
    Jeanne and David Martowski, Karen McLaughlin and Mark Schubin, David S. Moyer,
    William and Lavinia Simon, Joanne Witty and Eugene Keilin

    Contributing Members
    Patty Otis Abel and Dennis R. Reiff, Steve Dishart, Franklin Heller and Christian Steiner
    Valerie Krieger, Peter C. Lombardo, M.D., Arthur Richenthal, Laura Schoen and Robert Kaufman,
    Arlene and Bruce Simon, Drs. Susan Zolla-Pazner and Sherman Pazner

    Sandra Engelson Brown and Laurence Brown, Nancy Cardozo,
    Pamela Drexel, Yukiko and Jim Gatheral, Corwith and Rosanna Hansen,
    Tibor Kerekes, Jr., Keith E. Lubell and Sarah O.H. Johnson, Sarah G. Miles,
    Howard Ratech and Hideko Kamino, Dr. Heidi Rotterdam, Joe and Ann Scozzafava

    Chev. Robert J. Campbell, M.D., KSJ and Chev. Cesare L. Santeramo, KSJ

    Albert Fuller, President and Artistic Director, Franklin Heller, Treasurer, William A. Simon, Secretary,
    Pamela Drexel, Joan K. Easton, Michael C. Hanes, Timothy B. Harwood, David S. Moyer,
    Zoltan Ovary, M.D., Patrick Rucker, Lisa Welch

    Advisory Committee
    Leslie Armstrong, AIA, Abbe Aronson, Dorianne Beyer, James M. Cornacchia, Marianne Carroll, Jere T. Farrah†,
    Mark Golderman, Randolph Harrison, Robert M. Light, Karen McLaughlin, Sherman S. Pazner, M.D., Richard Schemm,
    Thomas Sokolowski, Barry Wacksman, Lisa Welch, Dianne Whitecotton, Bob Whitecotton, Susan Zolla-Pazner, Ph.D.

Special Thanks

    For their assistance with this Sixty-Fifth Symposium, Helicon is deeply grateful to
    The Alice Tully Foundation and the estate of Gladys Krieble Delmas,
    and to Peter Helm for the loan of his 1887 New York Steinway.