Symposium 121

Sonatas and Trios of Mozart and Beethoven
April 9, 2017
April 10, 2017

Sonatas and Trios of Mozart and Beethoven


Mark Steinberg
Mark Steinberg
Beiliang Zhu
Beiliang Zhu
Ilya Poletaev
Ilya Poletaev


Violin Sonata No. 21 in E Minor K. 304

Tempo di menuetto

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Piano Trio No. 3 in B-Flat Major, K. 502


W. A. Mozart

— Intermission —

Variations in G major on “See the conqu’ring hero comes”
from Handel's Judas Maccabaeus, WoO45

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Piano Trio No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 1, No. 3

Allegro con brio
Andante cantabile con Variazioni
Minuetto. Quasi allegro
Finale. Prestissimo

L. v. Beethoven


The notion of chamber music as an amiable conversation between close friends finds no more perfect illustration than the intimate works of Mozart and Beethoven. We celebrate the fruits of previous Helicon collaborations by bringing together longtime favorites. Pianist Ilya Poletaev joins forces with cellist Beiliang Zhu, having found an instant musical affinity with each other on last year's A Chopin Salon symposium, and violinist Mark Steinberg. Come hear anew what makes these works pinnacles of the chamber music repertoire.

Contact Form

Thank you!
Your message has been received.

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form :(

The Helicon Foundation, Inc.
8 Hilltop Drive
Cortlandt Manor, NY 10567