Symposium 130

April 14, 2019
April 15, 2019

Works of Beethoven, and his student, Ferdinand Ries.

Over the past few years Helicon has set up wonderful collaborations between some of our favorite performers. With Sons of the Revolution we build on the success of our matchmaking skills by uniting pianist Ilya Poletaev, cellist Beiliang Zhu and violinist Aisslinn Nosky. This final symposium of the season combines the music of Beethoven and his pupil Ferdinand Ries, including the revolutionary Eroica Symphony, in a chamber version fit for our intimate space.


Aisslinn Nosky
Aisslinn Nosky
Maureen Murchie
Maureen Murchie
Beiliang Zhu
Beiliang Zhu
Ilya Poletaev
Ilya Poletaev


Cello Sonata No. 4 in C Major, Op. 102, No. 1

Andante - Allegro vivace
Adagio - Allegro vivace

Ludwig Van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Violin Sonata in C-Sharp Minor, Op. 71

Allegro con brio
Allegro agitato

Ferdinand Ries (1784-1838)

Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, Op. 55, “Eroica”

Allegro con brio
Marcia funebre. Adagio assai
Scherzo: Allegro vivace
Finale: Allegro molto

Beethoven (arranged for quartet by F. Ries)


Contact Form

Thank you!
Your message has been received.

Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form :(

The Helicon Foundation, Inc.
8 Hilltop Drive
Cortlandt Manor, NY 10567